Sweet Child O’ Mine

Yesterday was Rosh Hashanah and Turtle didn’t have school. So you’d think I would have had plenty of time to make a SUPER AWESOME creation. Yeah, not so much.It’s not TERRIBLE but could’ve been better and my lighting sucks. English muffin pizza w/ mini pepperoni. Turkey and cheese face crackers, pandabanana (say that 3 times fast), a little ranch for the pizza in the lion container, and you can barely see it at the top right, a container of no sugar added applesauce. Under the crackers I hid a surprise for him. Cookies! Not just any cookies though, these are WhoNu? cookies. They look like Oreos but have Fiber, Calcium and Vitamins. Tasty too.

The reason the lunch was kinda meh was that Giraffe’s frozen stockpile of food was running low so my energies were focused there. I must have left my brain hat off though because I keep meaning to take pictures of that too but just can’t ever remember to do it. He now has a mini stockpile of oatmeal, carrots, peas, and applesauce. The carrots and peas are a new addition to his diet. We shall see how that goes…

I love, love, love the stackable containers I use for Giraffe’s food. They’re from a company called iPlay. They have a line called Green Sprouts. Baby feeding, toys and other stuff that are Green. You know BPA free and all that. I bought mine at half price on Baby Half Off. They don’t use up a ton of space in the freezer and they stack perfectly. Each little container holds 2 ounces and they travel really well. We went to the Rennaissance Faire here in Maryland last weekend with them in my Bumble Haley snack bag. I fit 3 inside with ice packs and 2 spoons.

Speaking of ice packs. Having taken many a food safety management course in my time, I worry excessively over foodborne illnesses and my children. Sending lunches to school without doing all you can to keep the food out of the ‘Temperature Danger Zone’ is just a big No-No. What is the TDZ you ask? Well, between 41 and 140 degrees Fahrenheit bacteria thrive and multiply. Yeah, room temperature falls in there. So does our body temperature. You eat bad bacteria then you get sick. This page explains it well. http://culinaryarts.about.com/od/safetysanitation/a/dangerzone.htm

For peace of mind I use the Igloo Maxcold Ice Sheets. They are filled with water, so I don’t have to worry about something contaminating Turtle’s food if one of them breaks. I cut them to fit in whatever lunch bag I send with Turtle. These little puppies stay cold a long time. Found them at Target in their outdoors section with the thermoses. I would have spent double the price for these they are that fantastic.

Talk at you again soon!

Leave a Reply

